Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Miscellaneous
Chai Lifeline Marathon

tomboy

Post Wed, Aug 12 2015, 10:14 am
I signed up for the half marathon. Has anyone run a marathon before?

MrsDash

Post Wed, Aug 12 2015, 10:15 am
Run a marathon in general, or run with chai lifeline?

tomboy

Post Wed, Aug 12 2015, 10:16 am
Either. I've never done anything like this before. I want to know what to expect.

MrsDash

Post Wed, Aug 12 2015, 10:25 am
I've never run with chai lifeline, but I've done a couple 1/2 marathons and one full marathon. The best advice I can give is to run, run, run. Train well, but if at any point you're in pain or injured, nurse yourself back to health before proceeding with more training. Do you have a program you're following? I did a combination of Hal Higdon and my own spin. How long until the race? Any specific questions about the race? Which race are you running in?

tomboy

Post Wed, Aug 12 2015, 10:35 am
I'm doing the Chai Lifeline half marathon in Miami on 01/24. I'm not following any program yet. Do I need to start training already? I'm pretty fit and have a lot of energy, so I guess that will help.

MrsDash

Post Wed, Aug 12 2015, 10:42 am
Start your training now. More than anything else, you want to build your endurance. Endurance strengthening can take some time. Do you currently run outdoors? If this is your first time running long distance, or it's been a while since doing so, you may want to start with interval training, which would essentially be a run/walk combination.

tomboy

Post Wed, Aug 12 2015, 11:14 am
I currently run outdoors, but not very long distance. Thx for the advice.

seeker

Post Wed, Aug 12 2015, 11:23 am