Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Children's Health
Will be at downstate hospital ny over shabbos

amother
Denim

Post Sun, Aug 16 2015, 6:15 pm
Hi! Didn't know which forum to post this in, but here goes. Dh and I will be at suny downstate hospital with dd (11 months) over shabbos. Is there a frum community at all around the area? A bikkur cholim? Anything we should know about the hospital? We do know that it's not such a great neighborhood, and are somewhat apprehensive. Tia!

amother
Olive

Post Sun, Aug 16 2015, 8:12 pm
I don't know if there is a bikur cholim in the hospital (it's possible but no idea) but I was a student at SUNY Downstate which is right next to the hospital, and there was a frum rabbi in charge of the Jewish center at the college and probably the hospital too. I think his name is Rabbi Yitzchok Holzman.

I just googled and came up with his contact info:

Rabbi Yitzchok Holzman, an Orthodox Rabbi affiliated with the
Lubavitch community, serves as "Jewish Patient Liaison" for SUNY
Downstate Medical Center.

Services:
Shacharis Morning Prayer: 8:00 AM, daily.
Mincha Afternoon Prayer: 1:45 PM on the 2nd floor BSB
(Radiology) and at 4:00 PM, daily.
Special Holiday programs and events are also held.

Rabbi Holzman is available by calling Tel:(718) 270-1818, Pager:
(917) 218-1818, Email: Rabbi@Downstate.edu

Hope this helps!

amother
Denim

Post Sun, Aug 16 2015, 8:24 pm
Thanks! Just passed his number along to dh!

Anyone else have experience at this hospital? Will the nurses be familiar with frum Jews and shabbos?

Jeanette

Post Sun, Aug 16 2015, 8:38 pm
It is very close to Crown Heights. In addition to calling Rabbi Holtzman you can call CH bikur cholim. http://www.bikurcholimch.org

I would say the nurses are pretty familiar with orthodox jewish needs over shabbos.

goodmorning

Post Sun, Aug 16 2015, 8:44 pm