Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Relationships -> Simcha Section
DD's Bas Mitzvah - is this enough food?

chocolate fondue

Post Tue, Sep 29 2015, 6:55 pm
My DD Bas Mitzvah is on Isru Chag. She inviting about 20 girls.
The food is supposed to be dairy (and I think everyone will be sick of fleishigs by then anyway.)

This is what I'm planning for a menu - do you think it enough?

Starters:
Blintzes (I know how to make them and I can make the crepes in advance and freeze them)

Main Course:
Lasange
Carrot Muffins
Cut up vegetables
any other suggestions?

Dessert:
Cookie dough fudge pie (from Miriam Pascal's 'Something Sweet'
maybe with chocolate mousse or ice cream

I'm a very simple cook and I don't have a huge budget.
TIA!

SRS

Post Tue, Sep 29 2015, 6:56 pm
Sounds fantastic!

animeme

Post Tue, Sep 29 2015, 6:59 pm
I would add a lettuce-based salad, and maybe some fruit. Grapes are fine- it doesn't have to be fancy fruit.

It sounds yum! Mazal tov!

ChutzPAh

Post Tue, Sep 29 2015, 7:11 pm
I'd probably do an ice cream buffet for dessert- a few flavors of ice cream, cute cups, and a bunch of toppings.

oliveoil

Post Tue, Sep 29 2015, 7:56 pm
I would skip the carrot muffins and do a fresh salad. I would also do some lasagna and another type of pasta to suit everyone's tastes.

cbg

Post Tue, Sep 29 2015, 8:04 pm
oliveoil wrote:
I would skip the carrot muffins and do a fresh salad. I would also do some lasagna and another type of pasta to suit everyone's tastes.

I would agree. I would also skip the blintzes.
This is what I served at my DDs bat mitzvah about 30 girls

Lasagna
Eggplant parmesan
Baked ziti
Greek Salad
Garlic knots
Cake

ila

Post Tue, Sep 29 2015, 8:36 pm
Make sure everyone can have dairy or make a non dairy option - maybe spaghetti with tomato sauce

CatLady

Post Tue, Sep 29 2015, 8:55 pm