Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women -> Teachers' Room
Adobe Graphics Teacher
1  2  Next

amother
Brunette

Post Sun, Oct 11 2015, 10:58 pm
Hi!
I've been doing graphics for two years now and know the 3 programs very well: Photoshop, InDesign and Illustrator.
I was just offered a teaching position for these programs to be covered within 12 lessons.
Is there anyone out here on Imamother who can guide me? What HAS to be covered?
Is there anyone here who taught these programs? And is willing to share some tips, notes, ideas?
Thanks in advance!!

kb

Post Sun, Oct 11 2015, 11:15 pm
How much are the students expected to learn about all three programs in twelve lessons?!

amother
Gray

Post Sun, Oct 11 2015, 11:22 pm
**Disclaimer: I am not a teacher and have never taught this material! Below is some food for thought, but I don't promise that it is the best way!**

I think I would do one program at a time. Probably photoshop, then indesign, then illustrator.
1. I would start with teaching how to open a new document in each program (go through the setting options, including setting transparent background(and that whole concept) in photoshop, etc.).
2. Then teach the tools, (focus on pen tool in illustrator, selections/layers and brushes in photoshop, and all the type tool/linking text box in idesign).
3. After that I would go though the main panels,
(Photoshop: layers, history, masks, adjustments, effects, etc.)
(Indesign: pages, character, paragraph, swatches, effects, layers, links, etc.)
(Illustrator: pathfinder, layers)
4. I think the last step would be going through to drop down menus and picking a few important features to teach in each program. many of them are obvious and easily self taught, like indesign's effects, you might point those out, but not go into it. I think transformations are important in photoshop, and in indesign- under 'object', theres some important stuff.