Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Household Management -> Kosher Kitchen
Chicken soup left out overnight

pickle321

Post Sun, Oct 25 2015, 12:22 pm
My chicken soup was accidentally left out Friday night but was put in the fridge shabbos morning. Is it safe to eat or does it have to be dumped?

etky

Post Sun, Oct 25 2015, 12:25 pm
Dump it, for sure Sad
Better safe than sorry....

amother
Sienna

Post Sun, Oct 25 2015, 12:34 pm
Throw it away.

If the food itself (not necessarily the surrounding room temp) is in the danger zone of 40-140 F for 2 hours, it should be considered unsafe even if it smells/looks/tastes fine. Your soup certainly falls in that category: it probably took an hour or so to cool down, then was at room temp overnight.

Anon for privacy as I am a food safety professional.

pickle321

Post Sun, Oct 25 2015, 12:48 pm
Thanks. So sad to throw it out Sad I could really use some warm chicken soup now

November

Post Sun, Oct 25 2015, 2:10 pm
I've had to do that before and it's painful! But overnight really is too long to sit out. Kol hakavod!

WastingTime

Post Sun, Oct 25 2015, 3:12 pm
OMG --is this for real?
I leave my chicken soup almost every Fri night. Either I put it in if I wake up in the middle of the night, or I put it in when I wake up in the morning. Its often still boiling hot when I go to sleep (we have fast meals) so I leave it out. And we have ba"h never gotten sick from it. Never.

allthingsblue

Post Sun, Oct 25 2015, 3:15 pm
4sons wrote:
OMG --is this for real?
I leave my chicken soup almost every Fri night. Either I put it in if I wake up in the middle of the night, or I put it in when I wake up in the morning. Its often still boiling hot when I go to sleep (we have fast meals) so I leave it out. And we have ba"h never gotten sick from it. Never.

Eeep. Not a healthy practice at all!