Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Household Management -> Finances
Rebbe Salary
1  2  Next

amother
Green

Post Thu, Nov 12 2015, 9:47 am
We currently live in the tri state area and my husband is considering becoming a rebbe. I know I know the jobs are very hard to find. I am just curious from all you rebbe wives, how much is the yearly salary of a rebbe. Please include what grade your husband teaches, the hours he works and the general area where you live. TIA.

amother
Mauve

Post Thu, Nov 12 2015, 10:54 am
Do you teach as well? IME the answer is different if it's a "teaching couple" vs. just a rebbe. In the case of a teaching couple, the school sort of has to make a package for them that will work.

amother
Green

Post Thu, Nov 12 2015, 11:25 am
I don't teach. I am an accountant. I would be open to working in the administrative office though.

amother
Mauve

Post Thu, Nov 12 2015, 11:40 am
So I think that a full-time (8-4) elementary rebbe would start in the ballpark of $50k for the first year with potential raises once he gains experience. Also free tuition. Not sure how administrative work pays. OOT, small community.

amother
Honeydew

Post Thu, Nov 12 2015, 12:09 pm
we're also OOT, small community. My husband works in a school but NOT as a Rebbe and he accidentally saw a Rebbe's paycheck. A little over 20K. He was in total shock. I can't understand a REBBE being EXPECTED to do medicaid and food stamps. If a Rebbe has 12 kids and qualifies because he has an ok salary but too many kids for that salary, I don't AGREE with that plan, but at least the school isn't setting him UP for being on the dole.

Anon so it's not clear which community pays a Rebbe 20K.

amother
Mauve

Post Thu, Nov 12 2015, 12:11 pm
amother wrote: