Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Household Management -> Finances
How much should I offer/expect to pay - picking up child
1  2  Next

seeker

Post Wed, Nov 18 2015, 1:44 pm
I want to ask a fellow mom if she can bring my child home from preschool on a daily or almost-daily basis. The preschool is about 10-15 minute walk away, we have kids in the same class, and she passes by my home on her way home. This is more of a convenience than necessity thing and I would be perfectly fine and flexible if she can't do it sometimes due to not going straight home or her kid being home sick or anything. My child is not a good walker so it would necessitate pushing 35 lb of her in a stroller at least half the way.

How much would you expect to get paid for something like this? The other mom is not a babysitter by profession or anything, she won't know what to ask either. I'm thinking a weekly or monthly thing rather than per day since it's such a small job. I don't even know yet if she'd be interested but I want to figure this out before I ask.

Stars

Post Wed, Nov 18 2015, 1:46 pm
Around here people pay $10 per trip.

notshanarishona

Post Wed, Nov 18 2015, 2:23 pm
Depends on the city, weather she has a car, wether you are asking more as a business or as a chessed .
Also would depend on the age and stage of her kids.

I would guess between $5-10 per day.

seeker

Post Wed, Nov 18 2015, 2:24 pm
$10 PER TRIP? That seems a bit much... I used to pay $10 per HOUR of babysitting including pickups when relevant. I realize many sitters have higher rates but I would have expected less for taking along an extra child on a route you're doing already for a total of having the kid for about 10-15 minutes.

pond user

Post Wed, Nov 18 2015, 2:28 pm
Stars wrote:
Around here people pay $10 per trip.

Wah! I'm glad I don't live in your city. That's extortionate.