Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women
Did you do Distance Learning? What did you learn?

amother
Puce

Post Sat, Nov 28 2015, 2:29 pm
I would love to pursue a career and have the time now to study -- the problem is that my mobility is currently limited so distance learning is my only option.

I realise that not all fields can be studied via distance learning so I'd love to hear what you studied to gain a better idea of what's available. For some reason I'm totally stumped for ideas but need to make a decision soon.

amother
Firebrick

Post Sat, Nov 28 2015, 5:25 pm
I got a court reporting degree entirely online, except for the interning.

Where are you located?

amother
Salmon

Post Sat, Nov 28 2015, 5:47 pm
do you have a BA? I'm pursuing a mixed humanities degree online but I honestly have no idea where it will lead.

If you are in the UK look at the Open University which has a wide range of courses and a good reputation. (you can do it from outside the UK too but its more expensive) Israel also has an O.U but no idea how it works.

You can look online for careers advice - what are you good at? writing? science? maths? Try and get an idea of what interests you, and then look for the best online course.

amother
Oak

Post Sat, Nov 28 2015, 6:19 pm
I started with my associates first and hope to go into psychology or counseling. The associates and bachelors can be done online, maybe the masters too.

amother
Linen

Post Sat, Nov 28 2015, 7:23 pm
I wanted to do nursing but I needed a bachelors first to get into an accelerated program. I did the science classes at a local community college and the rest was a combination of distance learning, CLEPs and credit by exam. The nursing program was school based though and took 15 months.

alef12

Post Sat, Nov 28 2015, 7:30 pm