Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women
I want to be a therapist

amother
Rose

Post Tue, Jan 19 2016, 2:48 am
Any therapist here that can help me? My dream was always to become a therapist but somehow it never worked for me to go to school and study! I've got the opportunity now! Where do I start? What do I have to do/study? Is there such a thing as a bachelor of therapy? Or which bachelor will get me to being a therapist? Ideally I want to be a CBT therapist! I'm still young and I live in Israel! Thank you as always!

amother
Lawngreen

Post Tue, Jan 19 2016, 3:22 am
I am a therapist. I am not licensed yet even though I graduated with my MA a while back because state requirements take a very very long time. I am not kidding. It is a long haul to get there and any quicky programs are worthless. BA programs, AFAIK, are not enough. At least in the USA, you usually need a masters degree, practicum and years of internships. Most of the time, these internships are not paid. Practicums are never paid. It is a long and expensive process so make sure you really want to do it and for the right reasons (and that you can do it practically- financially, you have the family/spousal support etc). You will have about 3 years in a MA program (and decent ones you typically can't get into with 1 year BA programs... you won't have all the pre-reqs.)
BA programs are only to get you into a MA/PhD program. You cannot sit for exams in the US with just a BA.
CBT is a theory of therapy. There are many of them and I didn't know so many existed until I started my MA program. I wouldn't close off other possibilities! That's one of my favorite things about the field- how to approach the same problem from a variety of viewpoints! Each MA program will differ in their approach- some are more general, some push one theory over another, and some allow the "compare and contrast" idea.