Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Household Management -> Finances
Taxes
1  2  Next

Who does taxes
Me/husband  
 26%  [ 35 ]
Accountant  
 73%  [ 97 ]
Total Votes : 132

twogees

Post Mon, Feb 01 2016, 12:58 pm
Who does taxes in your house? If me/husband, how?

supty

Post Mon, Feb 01 2016, 2:13 pm
I am an accountant so I take care of our taxes. If you have a simple return (ie just get paid by employer on w-2s) then you can do them yourself using Turbotax. Anything complicated, for example if you have your own business or investments, I would definitely recommend that you hire someone. You will almost certainly end up saving money in the long run. Good luck!!

m in Israel

Post Mon, Feb 01 2016, 2:14 pm
I didn't vote in the poll, because I assume you want to know about people living in the U.S. We currently use an accountant because our taxes are extremely complicated as non-resident citizens who earn income in both the U.S. and Israel. However for the over 10 years that we were married living in the U.S. we did our own taxes together using tax software like TurboTax or TaxAct. We found it extremely straightforward to use even when we had slightly complicated returns (I.e. capital gains on stocks, etc.), and once or twice when we weren't sure about things we called the IRS help line and found they were actually helpful!

amother
Plum

Post Mon, Feb 01 2016, 2:17 pm
We own our own business, so it gets really complicated and we have an accountant do it. Before we owned our own business we did it ourselves.

fbc

Post Mon, Feb 01 2016, 2:59 pm
I voted accountant, but our accountant happens to be my father in law! Works out nicely Smile

HonesttoGod

Post Mon, Feb 01 2016, 3:14 pm
I voted accountant who also happens to be my mother in law.
As much as we both hate this situation for several reasons we can't not use her at this time. She is very good at what she does though.

TwinsMommy