Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Recipe Collection -> Cakes, Cookies, and Muffins
Fondant for beginners

kiwi strawberry

Post Mon, Feb 08 2016, 11:21 am
I would like to learn how to use fondant to decorate a cake. I've never used it before and don't know much about it. Can I buy it or do I make it myself? If you can buy it, does it come in different colors or do I color it myself? What tools do I need to work with it? Where in Flatbush can I get anything I would need for it? Feel free to share your fondant tips Very Happy

TIA! Smile

water_bear88

Post Mon, Feb 08 2016, 12:05 pm
I'm pretty sure the brand I've used is imported from the US- I think it's called Satin Ice (or something like that).

You can get different colors, or you can color it yourself. I don't recommend getting a huge container of a color you're only planning on using for accents, thinking you'll use it up on other projects, unless you have a clear idea of what projects. White is the only color I'd say to get as big a container as you think you might use, since you can dye it. I dye small amounts with gel food coloring.

I don't have any special fondant tools, though I'd recommend a flat-bladed (non-serrated) knife. Toothpicks can also help. I'm also fairly new to this and would love any other tips!

FranticFrummie

Post Mon, Feb 08 2016, 12:54 pm
Check YouTube for tutorials. You'll find all the recipes and techniques you'll need, and if you can actually see it being done it will make a lot more sense to you. Try Pinterest for inspiring pictures.

Have fun, and remember, you can always eat the disasters! LOL

kiwi strawberry

Post Sat, Feb 13 2016, 9:16 pm
Does anyone know where I can buy fondant in Flatbush?