Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Inquiries & Offers -> Moving/ Relocating
Lakewood- Is it a bubble?

amother
Mint

Post Wed, Mar 09 2016, 9:36 am
I want to buy a house but the prices are really high! I have a house being offered but I'm terrified that its a bubble and the prices will come crashing down and I'll be stuck with a huge mortgage!
What is everyone doing? Holding out and hoping the prices will go down or do you expect them to continue to climb?

freedomseek

Post Wed, Mar 09 2016, 9:40 am
Don't think it will go down anytime too soon. Very high in demand as of now. But I'm no expert.

Chayalle

Post Wed, Mar 09 2016, 9:58 am
I think it depends where in Lakewood. Also if the house has desirable features, it likely won't go down.

I live near the center of Lakewood. The prices are CRAZY. Townhouses are going for upwards of 700K. It's nuts, but I don't think it's going to go down any time soon.

doctorima

Post Wed, Mar 09 2016, 10:03 am
I agree with freedomseek. Basic laws of supply and demand. Even though people on the margins are moving to the next city over, most people don't want to do that (and many of the locals in those cities are resisting), as they want to be near their kids' schools and the yeshiva. Combine that with many NYers moving there who are willing to pay anything reasonable as long as it's much less than Brooklyn prices (which doesn't take much), and you'll have bidding wars and prices being driven up. I wouldn't see a bubble popping anytime soon.

amother
Silver

Post Wed, Mar 09 2016, 10:38 am
don't agree, real estate s always a cycle, at the high end now, depending on where/what you want to buy.

still some good deals if you look around that are safer than others, but the market right now is being fueled by investors and the like, not supply and demand.

There is a limited supply of people who can qualify for a mortgage on a 700k house here in Lakewood.