Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Household Management
Tiny bedrooms - need advice re: remodel
1  2  Next

amother
Honeydew

Post Wed, Apr 06 2016, 4:00 pm
I am planning to convert a garage to livable space. Hoping enough room for 2 kid bedrooms, a full bath and a small lounge/ study area for the kids to hang out. If they will have the area just outside the bedrooms for desks/ bookcases/ seating area, I think that bedrooms can be very small - just a place to sleep: Bed (full would be nice but twin ok), nightstand and dresses in each room - done. So how small can I make the rooms? Cozy, good. Sardine can, not good. Also, if the rooms turn out to be long but narrow, will they feel claustrophobic even if they are technically same or more square footage than I could have given for a square shaped room?
I'm new at this. Never renovated anything so... HELP!

justmarried:)

Post Wed, Apr 06 2016, 4:05 pm
Give us the measurements of your garbage and we can try to help you. You will need hallway also.

Raisin

Post Wed, Apr 06 2016, 4:05 pm
you can get loft beds so there is more floor space.

studying_torah

Post Wed, Apr 06 2016, 4:17 pm
Or bunkbeds. Or set up the beds L shaped , so there is some room in middle, and the room feels bigger. Also good lighting, a window, mirror and light paint can all make a room feel larger. Ceiling height matters too.

L K

Post Wed, Apr 06 2016, 4:25 pm
How many kids are you putting in each room?

greenfire

Post Wed, Apr 06 2016, 4:26 pm
just build a loft ... or you will be cramped for space

MamaBear

Post Wed, Apr 06 2016, 5:06 pm
I think you're hoping for too much, unless you have a 4 car garage (I.e. large space).

Rubber Ducky

Post Wed, Apr 06 2016, 5:24 pm