Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women -> Work at Home Mothers
Does it pay to be a seamstress?

moramom

Post Thu, Apr 07 2016, 5:23 pm
I have been sewing for my family for 20 years,I want to do alterations fo income but don't see how it is worthwhile.Any seamstresses here that are willing to answeer some questions? Its a big chessed!

chocolatecake

Post Thu, Apr 07 2016, 5:35 pm
Do you mean quitting a job to become a seamstriss or are you home anyway. If ur home anyway how is it not worthwhile, you already have the machine so basically any sewing job you get is straight profit.

amother
Forestgreen

Post Thu, Apr 07 2016, 5:35 pm
just going to give my two sense. I live in lakewood. its extremely hard to find decent seamstresses. to say the least its frustrating. if you live here please please go for it as a lot of chasidishe people are moving in here and are looking for seamstresses. so many I spoke to about it are struggling.

we all figure something out but its super tough. there are some I wont mention that are mighty expensive. so with the influx of brooklyners coming its sure to be a good idea. if you dont live here then anyone thinking of this will know our frustration. thanks.

amother
Burgundy

Post Thu, Apr 07 2016, 5:38 pm
Yes I live in Lakewood and all I was told is that no good seamstress are taking any more clothes for pesach. I'm first doing my shopping now. I don't know I guess u have to shop before Purim to have time for your clothes to be fixed.

amother
Periwinkle

Post Thu, Apr 07 2016, 7:18 pm
My sil is a seamstress in Lakewood with a booming business who turns people away once she's full (and she has a couple people working for her)

If you live in a large jewish area its for sure lucrative. And if not it's still likely to be soen income even if your not always busy.

moramom

Post Fri, Apr 08 2016, 1:47 pm