Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Inquiries & Offers -> Moving/ Relocating
Any info on Rochester, NY, Scranton, PA or Pittsburgh PA?

DVOM

Post Thu, May 26 2016, 9:41 am
Hi everyone!
My husband is applying to graduate programs in these three cities. We know we want a small, out of town frum community to raise our 4 little boys in. If anyone can share any info on these communities-- schools, housing, job market for me (I'm a clinical social worker), community life in general-- I'd really appreciate it. We've lived the last 8 years (since getting married) in Lakewood, and while there are lots of things we really love about it, its not a natural fit for our family. We are applying to some schools here too, but we'd like to relocate, hopefully perminantly.
Thanks for all your help!

Ema of 5

Post Thu, May 26 2016, 9:49 am
I don't have any information for you as I don't live in those cities, but I can tell you that Pittsburgh is amazing. I love it, and my husband will tell you I would move there tomorrow if I could.
Someone also posted in a different thread about Rochester, and it also sounds like a wonderful community. (I think it was in the "out of town" thread.)
I have an aunt and uncle who have lived in Pittsburgh for 30+ years, if you would like I can put you in touch with them.

doctorima

Post Thu, May 26 2016, 9:52 am
Pittsburgh is the largest Jewish community of the ones you mentioned and will have the most options in terms of shuls, schools, restaurants, etc. Scranton is very warm and welcoming, but also smaller. Real estate is beyond cheap, but the job market can be challenging. It's also much closer to NY than the others. I don't know much about Rochester, except that it's also supposed to be friendly and pretty affordable.

amother
Ginger

Post Thu, May 26 2016, 10:00 am
http://www.torahrochester.com/

amother
Indigo

Post Thu, May 26 2016, 10:22 am