Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Household Management -> Finances
Why should we be honest?
1  2  Next

amother
Violet

Post Mon, May 30 2016, 9:36 am
I work in a school full time. B'H my dh has a pretty good job. I can't tell you how many times this year I've heard the therapists in my school talk about how they can't take anymore hours because it will effect their benefits. Then of course you have the families who learn (this is not a kollel bashing thread!!!) and the husbands choose no to apply any talents or skills that hashem gave them to earn money. Instead of course, they survive on programs and family help. All this of course is perfectly legal. Yet if I play games, and try to bend the rules a little, like for example not reporting cash earned, this is considered stealing. Can someone please help this make sense to me?

amother
Orange

Post Mon, May 30 2016, 9:54 am
There is no inherit dishonesty/deception in the examples you give of people choosing not to work or to work less hours in order not to lose government benefits.

For what purposes aren't you reporting the extra cash earned? If it to TAKE government programs then it is theft no matter how many people do it. If it is not to PAY taxes then you have a more valid question.

The Happy Wife

Post Mon, May 30 2016, 10:10 am
You don't see the difference between legal and illegal? One may be morally questionable but still legal.

amother
Violet

Post Mon, May 30 2016, 10:16 am
amother wrote:
There is no inherit dishonesty/deception in the examples you give of people choosing not to work or to work less hours in order not to lose government benefits.

For what purposes aren't you reporting the extra cash earned? If it to TAKE government programs then it is theft no matter how many people do it. If it is not to PAY taxes then you have a more valid question.