Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Inquiries & Offers -> Moving/ Relocating
Flatbush: Recommendations Please!

amother
Fuchsia

Post Sat, Jun 18 2016, 7:30 pm
For various reasons, we may end up needing to live in Flatbush next year.

We are in our late 20s w/ toddlers. My husband went to YU but we identify at the right of that spectrum. Not really yeshivish (though my husband did spend 2 years in kollel), but not modern either. Black hat for him, tights always for me, etc. I did not grow up religious and didn't go to the "right" schools, seminary, camps, etc. I have an advanced degree and plan on pursuing more.

I've only visited Flatbush (love the shopping!) but never spent real time there. I worry, based on stereotypes and my own intimidation about the move, that we'd be complete outcasts. Please tell me this isn't true (or give your honest opinion if it is) and recommend a block or shul community you think would be good for us.

Thanks!

amother
Sapphire

Post Sat, Jun 18 2016, 7:58 pm
I live in flatbush and have to say that your assumptions are incorrect. For better or worse flatbush is not a community and ppl dont notice or care about you. Walk around with your knees and hair half uncovered or have your husband sport beard and peyos you may live on my block and I dont.say a word to you, its not that im not friendly or disapprove of you I simply never noticed you. There are all types of ppl here and your crowd definitely.exsists but as a newcomer u have to make an effort to make friends, ppl will not notice a new face on the block.

amother
Fuchsia

Post Sat, Jun 18 2016, 8:00 pm
Thanks for the info. I guess that's both good and bad. Any shul you'd recommend?

mommyfirst

Post Sat, Jun 18 2016, 8:01 pm