Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Relationships -> Simcha Section
I need advice on making a kiddush in my home

amother
Crimson

Post Sun, Jun 19 2016, 9:48 pm
What would be easy things I can freeze ahead? I have no idea how many people to plan for - you never know who will really come. Any ideas for simple setup? Should everything be cut up and put on platters the night before? Where would I keep them? I've never done this before! Any advice welcome.
Thanks!

tryinghard

Post Sun, Jun 19 2016, 10:35 pm
cookies can freeze well, brownies, blondies or any bar cookie. Anyything you can do the night before, you should. Help is a must - you cant do it alone!

Ema of 5

Post Sun, Jun 19 2016, 10:55 pm
amother wrote:
What would be easy things I can freeze ahead? I have no idea how many people to plan for - you never know who will really come. Any ideas for simple setup? Should everything be cut up and put on platters the night before? Where would I keep them? I've never done this before! Any advice welcome.
Thanks!

I just made a kiddush in my house this Shabbos :-) I ordered a fruit platter, and I made two cakes and some cookies. My sisters sent a chocolate basket, and a few other people sent a few things. My sister in law made a salad, and that was it. Really nothing fancy. I absolutely didn't want all those fancy cakes and cookies that everyone looks at and says "oh they look so pretty!"" and then they don't eat them. I didn't want major leftovers.
Oh I forgot, I also got some prepackaged baked goods and candy from the local grocery store. Spent maybe $150 total (the fruit platter was $55)

Ema of 5

Post Sun, Jun 19 2016, 10:59 pm
amother wrote:
Thanks!

Sorry, I realized I didn't really answer the questions!!!
So in terms of freezing, anything baked freezes well- cookies, cake, brownies....