Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women
Is it possible to live on a single income?
1  2  Next

amother
Wheat

Post Thu, Jul 14 2016, 8:58 am
I work 8 hours a day and I am very burned out. I've been working full time for over 5 years and I need a break. I'm iyh due in 6 months and babysitting costs are so high. Half my salary would be going to the babysitter.
We have 1 child in school already that costs $350 a month.
I know a lot of ladies who stay at home, how do they do it?
After going through my finances we would be short $1600 a month.
DH makes $55,000 and is due for a raise soon so that would cover a few hundred a month.
I would consider working part time which would cover the missing funds but then I would need to pay for babysitting.

amother
Maroon

Post Thu, Jul 14 2016, 9:05 am
amother wrote:
I work 8 hours a day and I am very burned out. I've been working full time for over 5 years and I need a break. I'm iyh due in 6 months and babysitting costs are so high. Half my salary would be going to the babysitter.
We have 1 child in school already that costs $350 a month.
I know a lot of ladies who stay at home, how do they do it?
After going through my finances we would be short $1600 a month.
DH makes $55,000 and is due for a raise soon so that would cover a few hundred a month.
I would consider working part time which would cover the missing funds but then I would need to pay for babysitting.

Simple formula....At the end of the day if the money coming in is more than the money going out, your ok. Some families can pull it off with one parent working and some need both. Some need both working and additional help on top of their salaries to meet their bills. If you say you would be $1600 short each month if you quit your job then it doesn't sound like your a good candidate to stop working. Btw, I'm in the same boat. I would desperately like to stop working but can't afford to.