Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women
What Can I Become An Expert In FAST, And How?
1  2  Next

amother
Beige

Post Mon, Jul 18 2016, 8:39 pm
I'm an intelligent, accomplished SAHM in a community of PhDs/MDs/JDs/etc. I'll feel much better about myself staying home if I know that I have an advanced degree/specialization/etc., even if I'm chosing not to use it. I'd also like the security of being able to iy"H get a good job if it becomes necessary, and the option of working in a fulfilling career once my children are a bit older.

Can anyone suggest careers that can easily be studied at home (either independently or online), certifications/certificate programs... really, anything? I'm open to all ideas!

Thank you for your help!

amother
White

Post Mon, Jul 18 2016, 8:43 pm
Best bet is to think of something that you're already good at and think of how you can become even better.

But honestly there is no quick route to become an expert at anything. It takes a huge investment of time and effort. I have an advanced degree but I am far from an expert in my field.

bluebird

Post Mon, Jul 18 2016, 8:48 pm
amother wrote:
Best bet is to think of something that you're already good at and think of how you can become even better.

But honestly there is no quick route to become an expert at anything. It takes a huge investment of time and effort. I have an advanced degree but I am far from an expert in my field.

This is great advice, and the second paragraph is especially important. That time and investment needs to involve real work and experience. You can't become an expert if you're only working in isolation.

OP, you'll need to figure out your direction first, then maybe we can suggest ways to help you learn. But really the best way is to learn about the field, find a mentor, learn what you need to know, and practice it.