Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women
Advice for a career change to child development/education?

amother
Chocolate

Post Tue, Jul 26 2016, 8:38 pm
I have a lot of "back of the cuff" experience in child development/education (homeschooling, parent coaching relating to one of my children's health issues, curriculum design, etc.) and am now looking to pursue this a career. I don't know yet what I want to focus on, since my interests and experiences are pretty varied.

I plan on taking some child development classes at a local community college, where I can earn an A.A. in Child Development if I think that it will be useful, or use the courses as a foundation for later pursuing a Master's in a relevant field. I am also signing up for the American Red Cross's CPR and First Aid certification classes, since they seem like a good "hashgacha" on my ability to handle a medical situation.

Can those who are already established in child development/education think of anything else that I can do to "establish myself" (I.e. think about putting together a resume) while taking coursework and considering my options?

Thank you for your advice!

Kugglegirl

Post Tue, Jul 26 2016, 11:19 pm
What Is your objective in perusing this career?

To make a good salary (ie more than 50k/yr)?
    To work in a setting with hours and days conducive to being home after school & summers?
    To self actualize and gain knowledge that is of interest to you?

Are you comfortable working with diverse clients/students, or are you only comfortable working with "frum people" or "di hemeishse velt?"

Also, where are you located (country or state if in the USA)

What specific skills or knowledge do you already have?

amother
Chocolate

Post Wed, Jul 27 2016, 12:08 am
Kugglegirl wrote:
What Is your objective in perusing this career?

To make a good salary (ie more than 50k/yr)?