Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Inquiries & Offers -> Moving/ Relocating
LA schools...

amother
Dodgerblue

Post Tue, Aug 09 2016, 11:40 am
Can anyone describe the schools? I know there are a bunch. What is Emek like? Yeshiva ketanah? Ohr Eliyahu? Maimonides?

My husband is more right wing MO, I lean closer to yeshivish (left wing yeshivish?). we want excellent education, including secular. We don't have TVs, do have professional degrees...
Before housing decisions are made I want to know if there is a school for us.
Toras Emes is out because awful academics. Yavneh and Hillel are too left for us.

tichellady

Post Tue, Aug 09 2016, 12:04 pm
I am not an expert on the schools but I would say that you should not rule out yavneh based on your post. Hillel and Maimonides seem like they may be too mo for you, but yavneh is a little more to the right than them both. Based on what you are saying I think yavneh, ohr Eliyahu, or yeshiva ketana could work. I don't know much about emek these days

amother
Dodgerblue

Post Tue, Aug 09 2016, 9:10 pm
Can you describe yeshiva ketana? I know it's on the newer side. What hashkafa? Academic? Pro college or at least tolerant? What type of families send there- Kollel, professional, chassidish or a mix?

And I heard Maimonides is going towards the right but what does that mean?

tichellady

Post Tue, Aug 09 2016, 10:18 pm
Maimonides is not for you. The families who send their kids there are modern orthodox- the classes are coed. Does not seem like what you are looking for. I have no issues with the school- I would send my kids there just saying it's not at all to the right. Yavneh is definitely more to the right than Maimonides.