Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Household Management -> Kosher Kitchen
What's your secret to a good chicken soup?
  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  Next

amother
Silver

Post Fri, Oct 28 2016, 8:41 am
do you have a secret ingredient or any tips for a very tasty chicken soup? please share. I've been making chicken soup for a few years and I'm not happy with the flavor. it's not tasty enough, compared to other soups I've tasted.
please help

PinkFridge

Post Fri, Oct 28 2016, 8:50 am
Parsnip, chicken gizzards (pupiks), dill.
And chicken/chicken bones, carrots, onions. Add water to just about cover, or more if you'd like but not by a lot.
Bring to a boil, skim, let simmer partially covered for a good few hours. Refrigerate in containers with chicken meat and veg., skim the next day and freeze. (We won't get into the soggy veg. debate.)
No seasonings necessary to add besides dill though some family will lightly salt at the meal.

imasinger

Post Fri, Oct 28 2016, 8:55 am
Make sure you keep bones in there for a long time.

Carrots, parsnip, onion, bay leaf, and fresh garlic add depth. Celery and summer squash are nice, too.

Boil long enough for the taste to concentrate.

Salt and pepper to taste. Shred the soup chicken, so that everyone can get chicken and veggies in their bowl if they want.

mfb

Post Fri, Oct 28 2016, 8:56 am
I get great regards about my soup.
4 quart pot
1 chicken bottom
1 pack carrots
1 squash
3-4 stalks celery
Salt to taste
I think it needs a decent amount of salt to bring out all the vegetables flavors

jflower

Post Fri, Oct 28 2016, 8:56 am
I put in most of what Pink fridge does except for the chicken gizzards. My secret ingredient is one large sweet potato for a 12 quart pot. It adds sweetness and beautiful color to the soup. Simply delicious.

bigsis144

Post Fri, Oct 28 2016, 8:57 am