Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Relationships -> Simcha Section
A gerus needs help with bas mitzvah planning

amother
Papaya

Post Thu, Nov 03 2016, 3:01 pm
I've never done this before. We live OOT in smallish MO community. I don't want to do what everyone else does--I.e. public dvar Torah for the girl to say in front of the whole community with large meal catered for the entire community. More importantly she doesn't either.

I would like to do an "in-town" style party where it's just my daughter, my daughter's friends, close family members with short dvar Torah from her and me probably.

I need to know the steps and expectations. Are invitations like bar mitzvah invitations sent or is it usually more informal?

Are the activities usually Jewish themed or based on girl's preference?

Our house it too small for such a group so we would have to find a venue which would probably eliminate a "cooking" activity.

All ideas are welcome, please!!!

tichellady

Post Thu, Nov 03 2016, 3:04 pm
There's a big spectrum of what people do. You can do paper invitations or email invitations. The theme depends on your preference- we try to incorporate some chesed/Torah component into the theme that relates to the bar mitzvah girls interests.

imasinger

Post Thu, Nov 03 2016, 3:33 pm
It would be a good idea to touch base with the administration or teachers at her school, or with your shul.

Someone in both places should be able to provide you with an informed opinion about the range of community norms. And some good venue ideas.

amother
Apricot

Post Thu, Nov 03 2016, 4:46 pm
I grew up in Queens and have been to dozens of bas mitzvahs as a child and more now that my peers are making bas mitzvahs as well.