Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women
Any other social workers on here?
1  2  Next

amother
Lime

Post Tue, Nov 22 2016, 3:39 pm
I have a degree in Social work. I worked very hard to attain it and study for my exam. forward to some time later and I still cant get a clinical job as everyone says I have little experience and they want more experience but no one will give it to me. classic catch 22!
anyways, I am wondering.... aside from case management, what else can one do with a social work degree?

BrachaC

Post Tue, Nov 22 2016, 4:08 pm
I am a social worker. I work as the program director for a treatment foster care program. TFC is an interesting place to start, because it is a clinical role, but not a "classic" therapist position. I do hold a clinical license, I took a little extra time to account for a percentage of my work being case management. I did take a part time position at one point doing fee for service therapy. The clients were all insured through MA and the no-show rate for intakes was insane! I lost patience with making endless plans for my family for the clients to not show up.

If you are really interested in being a "classic" therapist then I recommend working somewhere with straightforward access- like doing home visits with geriatrics or an in-school contractor. Those pieces really can cut down on your no-show rate.

What kind of settings were your internships?

amother
Lime

Post Tue, Nov 22 2016, 4:39 pm
I can't get to a clinical license because of my catch 22. I had to go into public housing which I did not like and as for internships- didnt get me very far in terms of getting a job Sad
I cant get into schools, tried already.

amother
Maroon

Post Tue, Nov 22 2016, 4:47 pm