Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Judaism
Need excellent kiruv professional

njyenta

Post Wed, Nov 23 2016, 9:49 pm
Not sure if this is the right forum and it might be more than a kiruv issue.

My adult son who has been off the derech for decades now tells me he is a non believer. (He used to say he was non practicing orthodox). I'm getting nervous since he has a non Jewish girlfriend now. He challenged me recently to prove that Hashem exists and he claims to have scientific proof that he doesn't. I'm not a professional and I couldn't answer him Al Regel Achas. Does anyone out there know of a professional who has the expertise to deal with this? We are in the NY area. It's a delicate situation and he can be very resistant. He is in therapy for other issues and his therapist says the only way we can get along right now is to find other things we have in common and not discuss religion. Still, its extremely upsetting, us being frum and revolving our entire life around torah, mitzvos and the belief that Hashem runs the world.

tigerwife

Post Wed, Nov 23 2016, 9:58 pm
I am in no way a kiruv professional, but my initial reaction to this is just simply not to take on his 'challenge'. You cannot prove that G-D exists. That is why we have the mitzvah of 'Emunah'- if it was obvious fact, then there would be no difficulty in believing. "Son, I believe in G-D and nothing can change that."

His therapist is probably right. Leave out the discussions about religion, and focus on other common interests. Your unconditional love as a mother will come through. Don't let your differences destroy your relationship.

I know you are probably in so much pain based on your posts here. I just want to offer hugs and support. I hope I wasn't hurtful.

doctorima

Post Wed, Nov 23 2016, 10:48 pm