Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women -> Teachers' Room
Quitting mid year
1  2  Next

amother
Blue

Post Sun, Nov 27 2016, 1:56 pm
I'm an assistant teacher who is having a really tough year with the kids and the head teacher. I'm extremely unhappy there and keep going back and forth about just quitting and trying out being a stay at home mom the rest of the year. With daycare costs, financially it wouldn't be really an issue and my husband thinks it would be best for me to just quit. I'm just nervous to the reaction of the principal and if it will be difficult getting a teaching job next year for a different age group. I've never quit anything before so I'm not sure if this is the right choice even though I don't know if being miserable the rest of the year is a great option either. Has anyone done this before and has advice? Thank you

Kiwi13

Post Sun, Nov 27 2016, 2:06 pm
Is it possible to share your frustrations and desire to leave with the principal and offer to give enough notice for them to find a replacement?

amother
Blue

Post Sun, Nov 27 2016, 2:19 pm
Yes that's exactly what I would do

amother
Floralwhite

Post Sun, Nov 27 2016, 2:48 pm
If you live in an area where there are many who want teaching jobs, be aware that this will seriously hamper your ability to get another teaching job. Even where I live, where it's quite difficult to find teachers, the schools are very reluctant to hire a teacher who walked out when the going got tough, no matter how justified the circumstances.

That said, I sympathize. It's really hard to work with difficult people. However, we usually can't choose who we deal with on a day to day basis. You might want to consider finding yourself a mentor who can help you through this experience and assist you towards becoming a great professional teacher.

Anon b/c in the field and somewhat known in my area.

polka dots