Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Inquiries & Offers -> New York related Inquiries
Is Mill Basin/Georgetown safe at night

amother
Ecru

Post Wed, Dec 07 2016, 10:42 pm
I live outside of NY and am here for three months to take care of an ill aging family member. This is my first time here. I am struck by the amount of dark-skinned (brown and black) people living here.

I'm not stereotyping but years ago I had a cousin who lived in the projects and it was a scary place, with shootings and robberies being the norm.

Seeing all the brown- and black-skinned people has me wondering if this is an unsafe neighborhood. Better to remain indoors when it gets dark? Better to remain indoors early in the morning?

amother
Oak

Post Thu, Dec 08 2016, 12:37 am
Every time I read a post like this, it makes me sad and disappointed in our community. As a visible minority, I find the sentiments the OP expressed to be hurtful and yet they are so commonplace in the frum community. I used to stay quiet when I heard comments like this. I think we need to speak up because people should think twice before they say or post something that could be hurtful. I work with non-Jews and I don't experience racism there. What does that say about us?

amother
Ecru

Post Thu, Dec 08 2016, 10:31 am
amother wrote:
Every time I read a post like this, it makes me sad and disappointed in our community. As a visible minority, I find the sentiments the OP expressed to be hurtful and yet they are so commonplace in the frum community. I used to stay quiet when I heard comments like this. I think we need to speak up because people should think twice before they say or post something that could be hurtful. I work with non-Jews and I don't experience racism there. What does that say about us?

I'm really sorry to have said something that stirred up pain for you.