Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Relationships -> Giving Gifts
Send flowers to x family??

amother
Gray

Post Thu, Dec 29 2016, 6:24 am
Dxh's sister is making a wedding and invited me and for Friday night sheva brachos as well.
I have been estranged from her (and the rest of his siblings) for a few years now and am ready to step back now as we used to get along really well. This is my first time meeting them again properly.

Shall I send her some flowers or something else for shabbos before the wedding? Or no need?

Wwyd?

5mom

Post Thu, Dec 29 2016, 6:44 am
I think it would be gracious of you. Why not?

sourstix

Post Thu, Dec 29 2016, 7:07 am
It sounds like you want to start the relationship again, why not?

debsey

Post Thu, Dec 29 2016, 2:23 pm
In potentially fraught situations, always err on the side of being more courteous.......

DVOM

Post Thu, Dec 29 2016, 2:26 pm
Sending flowers is a kind and gracious gesture and can only be a good thing. Also, if she invited you, it sounds like she's also ready to mend the broken bridges between you... I say good for you Grey for putting aside old hurts and rebuilding the relationship.

Blessing1

Post Thu, Dec 29 2016, 2:41 pm
Im understanding you want to send flowers to ex DH family?
Or the X is there by mistake?
Why would anyone do that? Why would anyone invite ex family to simchos?

MagentaYenta

Post Thu, Dec 29 2016, 2:44 pm
Blessing1 wrote:

Perhaps she has children and would like them to have a relationship with their other family? It's difficult in the day and age of hostile divorces to consider that children are also relatives to these people and may deserve a relationship with them.

amother
Hotpink

Post Thu, Dec 29 2016, 2:53 pm
My mother-in-law has been divorced for many years but kept up a great relationship with her ex-mother-in-law and even invited her to her wedding and she came

amother
Saddlebrown