Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women
A bad mother for leaving my baby?

Boysclub

Post Mon, Sep 10 2007, 11:36 am
I am in my second year of graduate school as a part-time student. Because I am going part-time, the program itself will take me three years instead of two years. My husband and I asked a shilah before I began, because the extra year would mean extra tuition and possibly more children by that time, iy"H. However, I wanted to go part-time because I did not want to spend too much time away from my baby, who is now one year and a half, k'nina hara. Now I am in school three days a week, but one of those days is from 9 AM to 8 PM, and another day is from 3:30 PM- 9PM. Which means I cannot give my baby dinner and put him to bed two days a week. I feel so guilty, even though my husband does not mind doing it. I feel like I am not fulfilling my "motherly role" if I cannot bathe my child and put him to bed. Do you think my baby will be affected by me not being with him at this time? I cannot wipe away the guilt. Sad

mummiedearest

Post Mon, Sep 10 2007, 11:47 am
when I was little my mother had to work nights. she says she used to call and say good night to me on the phone. I don't remember this, and I was over 1.5 years. if your baby and husband are ok with it, try not to let it bother you.

Nicole

Post Mon, Sep 10 2007, 11:52 am
I do not doubt that you will get some nasty posts about how you are totally disgusting for doing this to your child and how dare you so I will quickly try to write a positive answer before they do!

As someone who just graduated school, and will soon begin to work, I definitely feel your pain. As Jewish mothers, we can't help but want to do what's absolutely best for our children. I know, in my case, it's either I go to work, or we end up in big "no money" trouble. It rips my heart out, but I know that in my situation this is necessary.