Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Parenting our children -> Our Challenging Children (gifted, ADHD, sensitive, defiant)
What does "Autism" mean?

amother
Lime

Post Wed, Feb 08 2017, 3:25 pm
Someone I'm very close to (I'll call them "friend") recently got word that their sister's child was determined to have autism.
I've never met sister or child, but seen many videos and would never have guessed from looking at it. In a prior career, I've worked extensively with adults and children with autism, but more as an aide, so I'm far from a professional who has the capacity to diagnose, even if I ever had met the child.
Friend is taking it a bit hard, it's making them very sad, as they love their niece. I'm trying to not say the wrong thing but still be there for them, so I don't want to say something like, "Autism isn't a bad thing, don't worry!" I know it is overly stigmatised but at the same time, I don't want to dismiss friend's sadness. (I'm very sorry if talking about friend's reaction is hurtful to any people on here... I really just want to know how to be there and what exactly this means.)
From the videos I've seen, niece is without a doubt extremely high functioning, if she is autistic.
She's responsive to the adults around her (ex.- in a video, someone says, "thumbs up!" And she gives thumbs up). She's active in the videos, and seems to have no problems talking. I'm told in social situations she's extremely shy, sits apart from all the children, etc. Friend also says that as a baby, she used to stare at people's faces and not react to their expressions.

My experience with this was obviously working with people who were far less functioning. Even the high functioning individuals (could dress themselves, eat) were extremely not responsive to general talk around them.