Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Parenting our children
I had enough of bathroom talk from my kids...

amother
Magenta

Post Mon, Feb 13 2017, 11:21 am
So my 5 year old is going through the stage of using bathroom related words at the top of her lungs ALL DAY LONG. At first, I calmly said, anyone who feels like they need to use bathroom words should please go into the bathroom to say them. That didn't work so I've been ignoring it for about 2 months already. But it's STILL GOING STRONG!!!

Now my 2 year old is saying it and I just CAN'T STAND IT!!!! It's driving me crazy!!!

What should I do???

gp2.0

Post Mon, Feb 13 2017, 11:28 am
Join in. 😉 😈

Chayalle

Post Mon, Feb 13 2017, 11:33 am
You should stop using it yourself.

One of my kids went thru that stage, and if she used a bathroom word, we had to go to the bathroom and wash her mouth out (with plain water). She got the message (and you cannot imagine how resistant a child can be to plain water, if the purpose is not for her drinking pleasure.....)

amother
Periwinkle

Post Mon, Feb 13 2017, 11:46 am
גם זה יעבור

When they do that put on headphones and listen to what you would rather be hearing. If they get annoyed that you are not listening to them, tell them that you are choosing to listen to something pleasant for you. If they make it pleasant to listen to them, you have no problem taking the headphones out.

If they change, hooray! If not, it will pass, and you won't lose your mind.

#selfcare

Rutabaga

Post Mon, Feb 13 2017, 12:10 pm
I would not recommend the old fashioned remedy of washing her mouth out with soap.

Is there something she really wants that you can use as a reward? Make a sticker chart and work towards the big reward with some smaller prizes on the way.