Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women -> Teachers' Room
Can I give teachers a check instead of a thank you gift?

amother
Sienna

Post Sun, Mar 12 2017, 10:21 pm
Or is this viewed as a kind of 'charity' or bribe?

perquacky

Post Sun, Mar 12 2017, 10:27 pm
Why not a gift card instead? A check seems a little odd. Not like a bribe, but more like payment for the job they're doing.

amother
Purple

Post Sun, Mar 12 2017, 10:27 pm
As a teacher, I'd say $$ is the most appreciated gift.

You can give a gift card to Amazon, or a Visa gift card, to make it more like a gift.

amother
Sienna

Post Sun, Mar 12 2017, 10:35 pm
Op here. I don't love gift cards because I feel like I'm narrowing the recipients spending options.
Is a Visa gift card definitely ok and not potentially offensive?

ra_mom

Post Sun, Mar 12 2017, 10:36 pm
A check is really fine. I often give checks as tips.

amother
Lawngreen

Post Sun, Mar 12 2017, 11:00 pm
amother wrote:
Op here. I don't love gift cards because I feel like I'm narrowing the recipients spending options.
Is a Visa gift card definitely ok and not potentially offensive?

I'm confused, are you deciding between cash and a check, or a non-cash gift and a check?

If your goal is to give the most useful gift possible - cash is best. But personally I think, if the goal is to say "thank-you" cash is not appropriate. On this site - this is a minority opinion. (a visa gift card is equivalent to cash).

amother
Wine

Post Sun, Mar 12 2017, 11:08 pm
As a teacher, I too, say, a check {or cash} is the most appreciated gift. Even if I end up using it for groceries....but I usually try to treat myself to something special. Gift cards are not always for things I need, just saying

amother
Pewter

Post Sun, Mar 12 2017, 11:14 pm
I give cash or checks. As a teacher, I appreciate them most.

seeker

Post Sun, Mar 12 2017, 11:15 pm