Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women
Do you hire? What can you tell me?
1  2  Next

amother
Tan

Post Thu, Mar 23 2017, 5:38 pm
I'm giving a group discussion to a bunch of upcoming graduates - can you chime in?

What are you looking for in a resume? Not looking for?
What will tip the scale and garner an interview and what is the deciding factor to put aside a resume?
What advice can you offer for a young girl entering the workforce?

Thanks

mha3484

Post Thu, Mar 23 2017, 6:26 pm
I read resumes for a living. I like to see a resume that has clear job descriptions with your contributions. I am a healthcare recruiter so I want to know how many patients did you see, what procedures did you do, how did you make your mark.

I think unless its an art job splashy graphics are too much. I don't want to see frequent job changes or large gaps. Also if you have a professional license please include the name that it is under on your resume because we check.

The best advice is to be reliable and flexible. My boss was terrified of hiring someone with small children because he thought I would call off a million times. But I proved him wrong. I show up every day. I work most of Friday, erev yomtov, chol ha moed. We had a middle aged woman who worked here who left insanely early on Fridays and it put a bad taste in our mouths. There is no reason to leave at 2 when shabbos starts at 8pm.

An example of being flexible, I had scheduled a day off and my boss had to go to a funeral so I rolled with it and took my day off another week. We have a deal that I don't take days off on Monday if I can help it and I stick to it. Its these small things that make you really indispensable.

zaq

Post Thu, Mar 23 2017, 6:31 pm
Lose the buzzwords. Tell me plain and simple what you did or studied. Preferably in words of fewer than three syllables and that existed more than three weeks ago.

amother
Ivory