Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women
How to make my resume look better-too many jobs

amother
Aubergine

Post Thu, Mar 23 2017, 7:12 pm
I'm trying to find a new job but I think my resume looks really bad because I've had too many jobs. I have a bachelor's degree and 2 master's so over a period of ten years that I've been in school, I had almost as many jobs. I switched jobs based on relevance to grad school and scheduling. I feel like it's not good for my resume that I switched jobs so frequently. How can I make it look and sound better?

MagentaYenta

Post Thu, Mar 23 2017, 7:18 pm
How many jobs did you have over what period of time? Were they all relevant to the job you are applying for? Are the skills you used on those jobs transferrable to the job you are applying for?

amother
Aubergine

Post Thu, Mar 23 2017, 7:21 pm
I've had 8 jobs in about 10 years. They're all relevant to the type of job that I'm applying for. I spent my years in school getting relevant experience, not waiting tables in McDonalds. Very Happy

MagentaYenta

Post Thu, Mar 23 2017, 7:25 pm
amother wrote:
I've had 8 jobs in about 10 years. They're all relevant to the type of job that I'm applying for. I spent my years in school getting relevant experience, not waiting tables in McDonalds. Very Happy

So why do you think that your experience can beat out someone who say stays at a job for 3 years? You know the field you're looking at, what is the general frame of mind of employers when it comes to length of previous employment?

amother
Aubergine

Post Thu, Mar 23 2017, 7:32 pm
MagentaYenta wrote:
So why do you think that your experience can beat out someone who say stays at a job for 3 years? You know the field you're looking at, what is the general frame of mind of employers when it comes to length of previous employment?