Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Children's Health
My daughter just diagnosed with crohns. Please encourage me!
1  2  Next

amother
White

Post Tue, Mar 28 2017, 7:36 am
My 6 year old daughter was diagnosed with crohns yesterday ( after only mild bloody stool symptoms and a very positive colonoscopy finding) and I need encouragement that this is not the end of the world. I am a nurse, and knowledgable enough about this that "researching and educating myself" is not going to cut it. If anything I know too much, and have seen way too many of the sick people with complications from crohns as a nurse...

So im looking to be reassured from people who have experience with this...

Here are the thoughts scrambling through my head:
But she looks so healthy! Yeah, but she did keep having bloody stools and some cramping. Yeah, but that wasnt very frequent. Cant we just not deal with this. No-we need to deal with this, because apparently if you dont, the inflammation can get so bad she could ch"v get strictures and fistulas and need surgery and a colostomy....OMG. I do not want my precious daughter needing bowel surgery! Or a COLOSTOMY! Ok calm down it probably wont happen. Well, you never know...they say it can have its ups and downs...what if it gets way worse than this? What if shes always in pain? Is this going to take over our lives? I dont want this to take over our lives...we have a baby on the way IH and I want to be able to enjoy that! Ok, we will of course enjoy the baby...but this will be something to deal with...NO! I am so scared of what this will entail! Ok, but BH its nothing worse...other people nebach deal with so much worse....BH she is relatively healthy otherwise...so many people would gladly trade....right? Right. But still...is this going to make our lives crazy forever?