Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Children's Health -> Toilet Training
2 year old dd. where to start

wazup

Post Thu, May 04 2017, 1:18 pm
my dd is 2 and a few months. she is my first and has recently started telling me that she wants to "make in the toilet"
I bought an insert for the toilet and she loves to sit on it for hours but so far has not done a thing in the toilet.
so thats where she is up to.
anyway, I have no knowledge at all about toilet training so if anyone would be so kind as to give me the steps and/or tips on what to do I would greatly appreciate it! im in no rush I just figured that she seemed interested so I would try...

Iymnok

Post Thu, May 04 2017, 1:24 pm
My sister lent me a book that's really great, "Toilet Training in Less Than a Day"
It was written in like the 70's.
It has a checklist to see if your kid is ready and an exact method. It worked very well for my son and my niece.

cm

Post Thu, May 04 2017, 2:10 pm
Does she usually "go" at a certain time of day? For example, my dd at age 2 would routinely urinate (on the floor) while the tub was filling at bath time, so we would sit her on the potty then, so she could learn to understand what it was for. Even so, she was fairly late to train, so that may or may not help.

Don't expect too much at your daughter's age. She is still very young.

Amarante

Post Thu, May 04 2017, 3:05 pm
cm wrote:

Don't expect too much at your daughter's age. She is still very young.

Not necessarily.

While I am not going to offer opinions as to when toilet training should happen, children were routinely toilet trained in the US by 18 months before the era of disposable diapers because, even with diaper services, it was much more difficult to keep a child in diapers past that time.