Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Household Management -> Kosher Kitchen
Ever made something truly awful
1  2  3  4  5  Next

sequoia

Post Wed, May 10 2017, 10:12 pm
Normally I'm a good cook, but today... Puke

I made a dish with expensive meat, vegetables, red wine, and spices that turned out so repulsively inedible I can't believe it.

Whyyyyyy Crying

studying_torah

Post Wed, May 10 2017, 10:15 pm
Ugh I'm sorry, can u figure out what went wrong?

tichellady

Post Wed, May 10 2017, 10:17 pm
That's so frustrating!

I once made a chili that was disgusting. The ingredients were pretty cheap so it wasn't so upsetting but I couldn't believe that a recipe with good reviews came out so terrible.

sequoia

Post Wed, May 10 2017, 10:20 pm
Yeah, chili...

This was grass-fed lamb.

How'd I screw it up so badly?

sequoia

Post Wed, May 10 2017, 10:53 pm
Ok I figured out what I did wrong.

Sometimes knowing physics is helpful.

myself

Post Thu, May 11 2017, 1:43 am
What a shame for an expensive potentially good piece of lamb. At least you now know where you went wrong.

My food-gone-wrong experience revolves around bitter zucchinis. I hate making a whole pot of soup only to discover that the zuchinni was bitter. It's such a pain.

amother
Azure

Post Thu, May 11 2017, 2:14 am
Yes! It was a dish with lots of cilantro. Great way to discover that both dh and I can't tolerate cilantro LOL (we'd never had it b4)

amother
Emerald

Post Thu, May 11 2017, 3:04 am
sequoia wrote:
Ok I figured out what I did wrong.

Sometimes knowing physics is helpful.

Nu?

Only so we don't make the same mistake.

groovy1224

Post Thu, May 11 2017, 5:31 am
Right when the whole wheat flour thing was becoming trendy, I figured I'd hop on the bandwagon and substitute all the white flour in my regular challah recipe with whole wheat. I had had delicious ww challah at friends's houses, so I figured it was as simple as that.