Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women -> Teachers' Room
Autistic Student being teased during lesson

amother
Orange

Post Mon, May 15 2017, 10:08 am
In my fourth grade class there is one student with autism. He is very intelligent and a very well behaved child. He is also happy to socialize with the students around him. The nicer of the students "tolerate" him with a smile and are somewhat responsive to his jokes and friendly gestures. However, I have been noticing lately that students have been making fun of his speech patterns and hand motions. They will even call out in jeering way "What was that "Jake"? Can you say that again?" So they can giggle at his mannerisms.

As a teacher, I can reprimand the students for "calling out" while "Jake " is speaking. I can punish them with consequences. But how do I call out the teasing behavior without humiliating "Jake" further? Please keep in mind that this usually happens in the middle of the lesson.

"Jake" is a wonderful and sweet boy. He is hardly ( atleast I suspect) aware of what is going on around him. But the other students snickering is really upsetting me and I want it to stop. Please share your advice and experience.

thank you

cnc

Post Mon, May 15 2017, 10:15 am
I would take the opportunity when he's not in class( by sending him on an errand etc), to give the class a speech about their behavior. A short story about being mean to peers may help.

amother
Orange

Post Mon, May 15 2017, 10:17 am
cnc wrote:
I would take the opportunity when he's not in class( by sending him on an errand etc), to give the class a speech about their behavior. A short story about being mean to peers may help.

Do I tell the class that he is autistic? Is that important to share? I think your idea is great. "jake" has perfect attendance and has never been absent. I will send him on an errand.

seeker

Post Mon, May 15 2017, 10:38 am