Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Household Management -> Finances
How can we add to our income?
1  2  Next

amother
Seafoam

Post Sun, Jun 11 2017, 4:55 pm
My husband and I are married for 3+ years, and are expecting our second child. I am a programmer, making a very nice salary, B"H, for someone my age, though we are not wealthy by any means. We live in Brooklyn, and since my husband's parents live here and are elderly, we are not in all likelihood going to be moving anywhere anytime soon.

So rent costs a very large chunk of my salary, and after babysitting and food, there isn't terribly much left. My husband was doing some admin work for the yeshiva he learns in this year, and some extracurricular stuff for another yeshiva, bringing in about 800 a month, which covers putting a little into savings, paying off what my salary can't, and having a cleaning lady 4 hours a week - needed, because after I get home from work, and since I am expecting, I can't clean much.

We are very quickly outgrowing our apartment. We can maybe manage another year or two if we put stuff into storage, but this isn't going to last.

My husband is going to look for a job that makes a little more next year, but we are really, bli ayin hara, fairly talented as a couple. Anyone have ideas of what we can do to bring in some more income?

My husband has admin experience, took a course on it, is a very good people manager, can convince anyone to do pretty much anything, never loses an argument (I know from lots of experience... and so do lots of customer service people), is creative, and not scared to work.