Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women
Editing plagiarized content
1  2  Next

amother
Blonde

Post Thu, Jun 22 2017, 12:48 pm
I'm just starting out in the proofreading/editing field, and I'm desperate for jobs. I got a steady job working on a project with someone who is self-publishing, and they just gave me some text to proofread that is definitely plagiarized. Some of the language seemed to be much higher level than the rest of it, so I googled one sentence, and found the entire section in a published book.

Should I say something? I really need the job right now, but I don't feel comfortable going along with this. We already had a "clash of conscience" over something else, and I very reluctantly decided to continue working for them, because it's the only steady option I had. And now this.

WWYD?

Lizzie4

Post Thu, Jun 22 2017, 12:51 pm
Don't work for them.
You don't want to get stuck when this can blow up into a big issue.

Tell them something came up and they will have to look for someone else.
Something better will come up.

Stars

Post Thu, Jun 22 2017, 12:53 pm
I wouldn't do it. If I would confront them is another question Smile

OOTforlife

Post Thu, Jun 22 2017, 1:11 pm
You could play naive and just add quotation marks and a citation in the appropriate places, and see how they react.

amother
Blonde

Post Thu, Jun 22 2017, 1:18 pm
OOTforlife wrote:
You could play naive and just add quotation marks and a citation in the appropriate places, and see how they react.

That's a good idea, but don't you need to get permission from the publisher to cite verbatim? I have to check that out.

I can't turn down the job, because I already worked on this document for about an hour before I got to the plagiarized part.

singleagain

Post Thu, Jun 22 2017, 1:20 pm
amother wrote: