Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Household Management -> Cleaning & Laundry
Cleaning lady etiquette
1  2  Next

amother
Silver

Post Mon, Jul 31 2017, 12:16 am
So this is my first time having a cleaning lady full time. She comes to me from 8:30 -4:30 M-F. I always give her lunch of course, at first I offered her a tuna sandwich or cheese sandwich and she tells me she hates tuna. She likes rice and chicken. So now everyday I make sure to have rice and some sort of chicken or leftover dinner for her.
One morning she came and said she didn't have time for breakfast, can she have something. I said yes of course, but ever since she is sitting down for 20 minutes and eating breakfast every single morning. Not only that she asked me to buy her lactaid, because the regular milk hurts her stomach!
Also I went to make a sandwiches for my kids and thought I had sliced bread and jelly but then I realized she ate all he bread (4 slices) and most of the jar of jelly....
Coffee, fruit and snacks were always offered and now I'm feeling like she is taking advantage of me and feeling resentful.
I'm afraid to say something because she watches my 3 month old and does a good job.
Should I just let it go since she is a good cleaner and babysitter?

dancingqueen

Post Mon, Jul 31 2017, 12:21 am
No advice, but to clarify she is more of a nanny/housekeeper than a cleaning lady it sounds like.

amother
Coffee

Post Mon, Jul 31 2017, 12:35 am
It's a tough call, It sounds like a lot of work to prepare food for her (and expensive), but it's also very hard to find someone capable who is able to clean well while watching a child.

jewish613

Post Mon, Jul 31 2017, 12:53 am