Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women
Salary dilemma

amother
Wine

Post Mon, Jul 31 2017, 10:08 am
I was more-or-less hand-picked for my current position. The main sticking point when I took the job, is that the salary was about $2,000 less gross than what I had been offered at other places (but couldn't take due to logistical reasons) and I had specific experience for this type of job. My salary officially is generated by a grant for a certain titled position that I was told is "equivalent" to what the other jobs were.

I have a Master's degree for the type of work that I do, and in most cases, I could probably earn at least $10k more--but the jobs are more difficult to come by and are generally more pressured and have more responsibilities. When I weigh it with the fact that I'm near my kids' school, relatively not far from my home, we're closed for y"t on a technicality, and I'm pretty much my own boss--its not so bad.

However, what bother's me is that when I took the job, my employer led me to believe that when the time came to renew the grant, she would apply for a higher salary. I worked very hard and diligently to try to impress her that I was worth "more."But the grant application came and went and without much fanfare a year later, she told me that since my position according to the grant is lower in rank than what I actually do, she could not get the raise for me--not a cent more. My boss has been super understanding in general, and not picky with when I get to work, and even this summer has allowed me to leave early so that I don't have to pay for extended care at camp.

So my dilemma is that now I'm expecting and in crunching our numbers, reality is that we're not doing great, and I don't know how we're going to be able to afford babysitting.