Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Inquiries & Offers -> Israel related Inquiries & Aliyah Questions
Job ideas?

amother
Burgundy

Post Tue, Aug 01 2017, 7:38 pm
We're planning on making Aliyah. However, one of the biggest issues are our careers and how exactly we'll be able to find jobs in Israel. We both have degrees from college, but not great ones. So my husband has a BA in Spanish Literature and I have a BA in Nutrition. My husband is a music teacher in a charter school, but isn't certified. They love him there and has great experience, but doesn't have a certificate in education so of course every place they look at that, I'm sure even in Israel. I worked in a hospital as a dietitian assistant, I have the degree, but I'm not a registered dietitian. So we're both in a not so good position. How will we survive in Israel? what kind of jobs should we look for? I speak hebrew and english. My husband is fluent in english and spanish. Any ideas?

Also, what's a reasonable salary for one (or two parents) for a family of 5 living in Israel? We're not planning on living in Jerusalem and buy expensive things, but we need some sort of good income to pay for bills etc.

mame1

Post Tue, Aug 01 2017, 9:45 pm
My suggestion is that you get both of yourselves back in school and get second degrees --at least one more degree under your belts--and as many certifications as you can because Israelis LOVE degrees, especially from American universities.

amother
Burgundy

Post Tue, Aug 01 2017, 9:56 pm
mame1 wrote:
My suggestion is that you get both of yourselves back in school and get second degrees --at least one more degree under your belts--and as many certifications as you can because Israelis LOVE degrees, especially from American universities.