Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Fashion and Beauty -> Sheitels & Tichels
Love covering my hair but hate wearing skirts

keks

Post Mon, Aug 21 2017, 9:01 am
Hi all

I just need to vent and/or ask for some guidance.

I have been covering my hair for two years now and I really enjoy it. The mitzvah is meaningful to me. However I struggle every single day with wearing skirts. As a Baal teshuvah all I want to do is wear pants and jeans which make me feel so much more "myself". I totally understand the halachot but I just struggle so much with it. Any inspiration?
Any advice?
[b]

champion

Post Mon, Aug 21 2017, 9:09 am
No inspiration.
But maybe it will be comforting to know that you are in good company... Just the other way around.
I was raised FFB, so no real struggle with wearing skirt involved, But BOY do I struggle with covering my hair. I don't feel like myself whenever I go out into the world.
Its been a long journey for me, But I can tell you that buttom line I came to a conclusion a long time ago that god doesn't have to make all his commandments comfy for me. (same goes with TH, which for me is a huge deal)
It kind of makes it easier in a funny way when I can be at peace with how hard a mitzva is for me...
I hope I make sense somehow...

iammom

Post Mon, Aug 21 2017, 10:21 am
champion wrote:
No inspiration.
But maybe it will be comforting to know that you are in good company... Just the other way around.
I was raised FFB, so no real struggle with wearing skirt involved, But BOY do I struggle with covering my hair. I don't feel like myself whenever I go out into the world.
Its been a long journey for me, But I can tell you that buttom line I came to a conclusion a long time ago that god doesn't have to make all his commandments comfy for me. (same goes with TH, which for me is a huge deal)