Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women
Bringing work home (or not)
1  2  Next

amother
Amber

Post Tue, Aug 29 2017, 12:39 pm
I am a high school teacher, and I find the fact that I constantly have to do significant amounts of work at home to be very stressful and draining. Sometimes I feel that it is outweighed by having summer vacation and other vacations, and not working until 5 like many other jobs. Other times I feel like I just can't take it anymore and want to retrain for a career in which I can leave my work at work and not have to be busy with it at home.

Not sure what my question is exactly. I guess I am just curious how others feel about this, and whether there is anyone out there who has a job for which she does not have to do work at home. Does such a thing even exist, or do most jobs today involve bringing work home?

mha3484

Post Tue, Aug 29 2017, 12:43 pm
I work as a recruiter and my job is very 9-5. I will occasionally bring work home or do some work on Sundays if I want comp time for an appointment etc.

singleagain

Post Tue, Aug 29 2017, 12:46 pm
I work in an accounts payable department, and I never bring my work home, although I sometimes, stay late or come in early, if I know there will be a big pile of papers.

many office type jobs, would not require work to be brought home

amother
Navy

Post Tue, Aug 29 2017, 12:50 pm
I am a PA. I work in a private office. All charting is electronic. If I don't complete my work during my office hours, I have to bring my laptop home. All on my own time, unpaid. Will happen more frequently during the busier times, like school holidays etc. I hate bringing work home, so I work like a dog to stay on top of my charts, however sometimes it's inevitable. No advice, just commiserating.

tweety1

Post Tue, Aug 29 2017, 1:08 pm