Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women -> Teachers' Room
DH and I in chinuch - late pay checks are ruining us Vent
1  2  3  4  5  Next

amother
Salmon

Post Sun, Sep 03 2017, 7:12 am
I am distraught right now. We are going into financial ruin because of our late pay checks.

Some background. DH and I are both in chinuch. He is a rebbe and teacher and I am a teacher. We both work in Brooklyn yeshivas. There is nothing else we'd rather do. Teaching is our passion and educating the next generation of Jewish children is what we are meant to do. We both work full time in different yeshivas and we are owed a lot of money. It's September now and we are starting the school year again. We are both owed for multiple months from last school year. Every time we ask our schools, they give us the run around or just ignore texts and calls. (One school kept on repeating that they have no money but I know from the secretary they paid all their other bills on time. I guess that left no money for the teachers.)We are owed thousands upon thousands of dollars, a large chunk of our income. Technically, according to how much we make, we should be living comfortably. Instead, we are living paycheck to paycheck. We've used up our savings to pay our bills and we can never reimburse the savings because of this cycle. Once we get a paycheck we use it to pay our existing bills. We switched schools a few times since we thought that some schools would pay on time. So far, this hasn't happened.