Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women -> Teachers' Room
How to lighten the load
1  2  Next

amother
Teal

Post Mon, Sep 18 2017, 10:26 am
I've been teaching a specific subject many years in HS, and I absolutely love my job! I enjoy the teaching, and I am well-informed in my subject matter. I am also an all-in teacher, meaning I don't take shortcuts like I see other teachers do. I don't know how. Whatever I do, it's a job done well.

To that end, I've been giving weekly quizzes for years, and I find it crucial to my curriculum. However, k"ah, my family has grown, so have my responsibilities, and the marking is really getting to me. I don't have the time or sufficient patience for both my family and the marking.

I'm trying to figure out an appropriate way of lightening my marking load. Cutting out the quizzes is not an option because of how beneficial they are for both me and the girls. I don't want to hire someone else to do the marking. Any other suggestions?

cnc

Post Mon, Sep 18 2017, 10:34 am
What format are quizzes? Can you make them multiple choice and use a scantron?

Iymnok

Post Mon, Sep 18 2017, 10:35 am
I had a teacher who assed out green pens for us to mark our (or our neighbors)tests. He had strict rules about marking and we learned from our mistakes.

purple 1

Post Mon, Sep 18 2017, 10:37 am
I had a teacher once that we knew that it was either a written quiz or an oral quiz - and she would mark down who she asked so everyone got a chance fairly... this probably lightened her grading work but still encouraged us all to review each day

amother
Teal

Post Mon, Sep 18 2017, 10:47 am
cnc wrote:
What format are quizzes? Can you make them multiple choice and use a scantron?

The quizzes require writing. Though I should look into that at least for the tests.

amother
Teal

Post Mon, Sep 18 2017, 10:48 am
Iymnok wrote: