Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women
Computer Programmer

amother
Papaya

Post Mon, Sep 25 2017, 1:56 pm
I currently work in an office job. I've been here 8 years and make 45k for 28 hours a week. There is no more room for me to grow at my current job. I am constantly seeing ads for these computer programming courses and they advertise as flexible jobs. I live in the tristate area. My question is how many people actually find jobs after taking a 6 month-1 yr course and what salary are they making?

Chayalle

Post Mon, Sep 25 2017, 2:17 pm
I earn considerably more than what you mention, but I work full time (from home, though I started out working on site), and I have a degree in computer sciences.

amother
Smokey

Post Mon, Sep 25 2017, 2:32 pm
chayalle- you've also been working for awhile. The impression I get is that the jobs that people get right away don't pay so well, you need to have experience first. Don't know how many years..

Chayalle

Post Mon, Sep 25 2017, 3:22 pm
Yes I've been working for over 20 years. My starting salary over 20 years ago was 31K. I think nowadays a starting salary in computer programming would be somewhere in the 40K range. And I believe that's full time. But there's more room for advancement.

amother
Smokey

Post Mon, Sep 25 2017, 3:43 pm
chayelle- I 100% agree just don't want to give op unreasonable expectations for the beginning since she seemed to asking about finding a job after getting a certificate and the salary to expect. s

amother
Pumpkin

Post Wed, Oct 04 2017, 5:07 pm