Home
    Private Messages   Advanced Search   Rules   New User Guide   FAQ   Advertise   Contact Us  
Forum -> Working Women
Do I want this job?

amother
Plum

Post Wed, Oct 04 2017, 3:16 pm
I work in tech, and I've been interviewing for a job at a very big-league frum company.

At first I thought this was my dream come true, an employer who closed for all yom tovs, no taking vacation for all of those days. And then, the other shoe dropped: this company offers a tiny amount of vacation/sick/personal days, and is open and running on days--like Thanksgiving, Labor Day,--when DH is home from work or we celebrate (my entire family has always come together for Thanksgiving). But the feeling I got in the interview, only Jewish holidays count.

No maternity leave. 401k after a year that the company doesn't give any $$ to. An extra hour EVERY DAY (9-6) so I'm coming home late to kids, but off Fridays at 2.

The office was a nightmare. Messy, filthy cubes. I believe I'd be the only Frum person other than the owners.

So here's my dilemma (I have many): In tech, I have always had tons of perks, etc, that other places don't get. Including a lot of flex time. I am grateful and have been very lucky.

This place, the perk was office closed on all Yom Tov. Which after seeing the place and hearing what they don't offer, might not be any better than other tech places I've worked. And much of it felt very much like a misogynistic chillel Hashem: We only care about Jewish workers, and we have none.

Thoughts, please. I know it's hard to find a job and I don't want to appear ungrateful.

tichellady

Post Wed, Oct 04 2017, 3:23 pm
The way you are describing this job and company makes me think it is really not appealing to you ( doesn’t sound appealing to me either). Doesn’t sound like you should change jobs for something you aren’t excited about

amother
Plum

Post Wed, Oct 04 2017, 3:36 pm
tichellady wrote: